Lots of Summer Squash

By this time of year, we are all knee deep in summer squash. I have been eating it raw in my salads all summer long, and I cooked some up with Zucinni and mushrooms a couple times too.  I also made some Polish squash pancakes a few times. Now I am ready to preserve it in a way where the kids can eat it all winter long. In order to do that, I will disguise it in some Chocolate quick breads.

STEP 1-Shred about 6 cups worth

STEP 2- mix in your ingredients

STEP 3-Pour into all your pans

YUMMY!

Sprinkle a lil'honey on top for added moistness

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chocolate Summer Squash Bread/Cake

Ingredients

  • 2 (1 ounce) squares unsweetened chocolate
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cups sugar (I used powdered Stevia)
  • 1 cup Apple Sauce (I put 1/2 coconut oil/1/2 apple sauce)
  • 2 cups grated Squash
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups unbleached flour  ( I grinded my own  wheat berries)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  1. 350 degrees Lightly grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans. In a microwave-safe bowl, microwave chocolate until melted. Stir occasionally until chocolate is smooth.
  2. In a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar, apple sauce, grated squash, chocolate,vanilla. beat well. Next Stir in the flour baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Pour batter into prepared loaf pans.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a loaf comes out clean.

I tripled this recipe. I wanted to make muffins with it to. I let it all cool, and then frozea bunch of it to have for the winter months.

Leave a Reply

