The 5 Love Languages


I am sure every one has read this book at one time or another. I was talking about it recently with dh and a friend, which led me to writing this post. I think it is very  important for us to know what our spouses, friends, and children’s love languages are. It really is helpful in a relationship to know.

For example: If a friend who is going through a hard time, who’s love language is, Words of Affirmation, and I send a gift, the gift can be real nice, but really is not going to do much for the friend.

Same goes for a friend who’s love language is Receiving Gifts.

If I try to console them with a hug, or offer to clean their house, these things may be sweet gestures, but will not actually be helpful for the  friend in need.

What are the 5 Love languages?
1.Words of Affirmation-
Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important.

2.Quality Time-
In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention.

3.Receiving Gifts-
Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift.

4.Acts of Service-
Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes.

5.Physical Touch-
This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy.
For more detailed info, click here.

I went ahead and took the online quiz.  Because no one knows what their love language is, better then themselves.

I took a guess before I even took the quiz. And I was right on!

That said,

I think it is equally important to know what “other peoples” love languages are. Especially those close to you. ❤️

For example:

My mother NEEDS me to remember every single holiday. A gift, and a  card, show her I love her, and am thinking about her. If I forget even once, she feels regected. She also needs Words of Affirmation occasionally.  Therefore, she falls under #1, but mostly #3.

My father NEEDS me to tell him how important & fearless he is to me, and how much I admire him. He is not afraid of anything! And likes for me to remember that!

Which I do. He falls under #1 all the way!

At times, I still like to send him a gift, as I do my mother, but it is usually not very important to him.
I have come to realize in relationships in general,  If you are not getting the love language that you so desire, it is often times hard to give your friends and family the love languages that they  really need. It falls under mis-communication I suppose. Or maybe the whole, men are from mars, women are from venus.

Regardless.. The ultimate key is, Be Sincere! :o)


And for any one who does not  know what their love language is..You can go here, and take the quiz.  It really is that easy!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s