Thanksgiving

A traditional New England Thanksgiving dinner is shown above~~~Of course I am anything but traditional, which is why I am not going to be using this menu plan.

That said..

It is that time again. Thanksgiving! We will be doing our Thanksgiving on mine & my daughters birthday this year. We do this every other year.:o)

What is on the menu? Pretty standard. I think.

Almond-brown sugar brie w/water crackers

Turkey of Course, and REAL Turkey this year too! Last year I tried to convince my family that the Tofurkey was really uncanny! *G*

Mash Potatos & Gravy

Green Bean Casserole

Sweet Potato Casserole

Cranberry Relish

Dinner Rolls

 Pumpkin Roll

Apple Pie

Castle Cake & Ice Cream

Homemade raw Egg-Nog

The only thing that is missing from the standard American Thanksgiving. Well, at least the ones I had growing up in New England,  are  Pearled Onions..which I was always forced to eat as a kid, and wouldn’t wish them on my worst enemy. Stuffing, which no one can make better then my grandmother, but I am also the only one who likes it in my family. My grandma would put apples, rasins, and walnuts in it! YUM! Turnips, again, I am the only one who likes them, so we do not make them. Yams, which I really would make,  but since I am making the Sweet potato casserole, they are pretty  much the same.

I might also add that I have never heard of sweet potato casserole until we moved down here. I had no idea what I was missing!!!  *fainting* Carrot Raisin salad-I make this every other year.

I also have never heard of a pumpkin roll until I moved down here, and I think it is super funny that every time someone has a piece, they tell me that obviously it is something that I have been making for years and years, because it is the best they ever tasted. :o)~

So what does everyone elses menu look like this year?

Some of the recipes I use-

Green Bean Casserole

2 cartons of organic condensed cream of mushroom soup
8 cups cooked green beans
1 teaspoon pepper

dash of sea salt
2 cup milk
2 cups French fried onions

Preparation:
Mix soup, milk and pepper in  casserole dish. Stir in beans and 1 cup of the fried onions. Bake for about 25 minutes at 350 degrees.. Top with the remaining  fried onions and bake about 5 more minutes, until onions are lightly browned.
Serves 12.

Cranberry Relish

24 oz bag fresh cranberries

2 cups orange juice

1 cup brown sugar

capful of rum extract

1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

Place all the ingredients in a sauce pan and cook on medium heat for 20-30 minutes or until most of the liquid has reduced – stirring occasional. You’ll hear the cranberries popping – don’t worry, that’s what you want them to do.,, Remove from heat and serve.  Cranberry sauce/relish can be made days ahead and brought to room temperature or slightly heated before serving.

Serves 8

 Raw Homemade Eggnog

4  large farm-fresh eggs, *room temperature* Otherwise they won’t fluff up.
1 cup raw sugar
2 tsp real vanilla extract
1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
4 cups raw milk
2 capfuls of Rum extract

In your blender…. whisk together eggs and sugar until sugar is dissolved. Add vanilla, nutmeg and milk.
I use my Blendtec, but I believe any blender would work. You want to blend it until you get that thick milky custard consistency.  If you like it thicker, you can add a  1/2 packet of jello vanilla pudding mix. Lastly, stir in rum extract.

Serves 6

Brie w/Almonds & brown Sugar

What is more comforting then creamy melted cheese.. mixed with a sauce made with slivered almonds & brown sugar. I make my own brown sugar, because I like lots of molasses in it. I unwrap a big wheel of Brie, top it with a generous amount of brown sugar, then with crushed/slivered almonds, or any nut of your choice. I first had this back home at a friends Christmas Party. That was eight years ago, and I have been hooked ever since. Some people put apricot preserves instead of the brown sugar, or maybe drizzled honey.Whatever you like!

 Heat in a preheated 350′ oven until melted. Then spread on crackers. This is very addicting and you can bet, if you eat enough, you will gain weight! *G*

Leave a Reply

