Grace & Love

I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven; for He makes His sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust. For if you love those who love you, what reward have you? Do not even the tax collectors do the same? And if you greet your brethren only, what do you do more than  others? Do not even the tax collectors do so? Therefore you shall be perfect, just as your Father in heaven is perfect.” (Matthew 5:43-48)

Once upon a time, I only surrounded myself with other believers. Not just any believers, but Christians that were just like me. Who looked, dressed, and acted like me. Like minded, if you will.

Being in Utopia with like minded believers will always seem like the sparkly choice. But it is a choice that I really do not want for my life anymore, and I do not think it is biblical. Feel free to agree, to disagree.

I am not talking about being unequally yoked. I am talking about our lives, as a whole.

Do I want all my friends to be exactly like me? NO!

Do I want to live and set up house with folks just like me? NO!

Do I want to shun anyone who is not like me, believers and otherwise? NO!

(We are the church, its people, body of believers.)

 A church divided is no church at all.

Isn’t this why we have so many denominations and flavors of Christianity to began with?

And gee, if you can not find a church to measure up with your beliefs, you can just go get yourself ordained and start up your own church! It really is that easy.

So where does this leave the UN-believers? Where does this leave believers?

Should we keep church hopping until we find a good fit? Maybe a fit that is 90% of what we believe? Should we just chew and spit, take the good with the bad?

Should we realize that todays churches are nothing more then corporations that need YOU to keep afloat.

You have the Joel Osteen-tickle your ears messages..

You have the Phanatics, such as Benny Hinn that would like us to believe that he is more spiritual then anyone else, and therefore the Lord gives him more super-power then the rest of us.

Then you have todays everyday preachers that will forever put the guilt trip on you to be more holy, as if this is something that we can just choose to do..when in fact that the holy spirit is in charge of that, and anything we try to do ourselves will surely fail. This, and we should not be trying to steal Gods Glory! Amen!

And yes, I am very familiar with the verse, be holy, for I am holy.  I use to quote it to folks all the time, it was my favorite in fact.*G*

 ~Being holy is something that we can not just choose to do, anymore then choosing to be happy, if we are unhappy, or sad. We have to go  to the father and ask for him to transform us to his image. Easy enough? In his timing, not ours…it is.

Then if your not feeling bad enough, We have churches that you enter through.. feeling totally unworthy and contemptible… just to leave, and feel even worst. These classify as the fire & brimstone type churches. Blame the devil, it is always and forever the devil….

~~But this is not another anti-church post. I have done enough of those in the past. *G* This post is about being one. One with one another…in Love, with ample Grace.

My grace is sufficient for you….2 Corinthians 12:9

Now I am no longer in the world, but these are in the world, and I come to You. Holy Father, keep through Your name those whom You have given Me,that they may be one as We are….John 17:11

There is so much hatred already in the world. Why do believers top the charts?

Why belittle one another? Does it make us feel more holy and just?

Why talk negative about each other? Is it edifing?

Therefore comfort each other and edify one another…..1 Thessalonians 5:11 

Most of my friends fall under fire & brimstone preaching. Most feel like Love and Grace is the wishy washy way to go..But, How are they doing? Doing inside? Do they count it all joy? Per James 1:2

Are people truly seeing Christs Light &  Everlasting Love in them?  Do people want to be around them because there is something about them, that they just can’t seem to get enough of?

The people dwelling in darkness have seen a great light, and for those dwelling in the region and shadow of death, on them a light has dawned. Matthew 4:16

Leave a Reply

