IRON Rich Foods

 

Below is a list of iron rich foods.  I really don’t eat many of them, and apparently, only 1 mg of iron is absorbed for every 10 to 20 mg of iron ingested. I also learned that people who drink a lot of milk, or soy have low iron, as well as people who don’t eat alot of meat. I drink raw milk in my coffee every day.  However, I’m on day 3 right now without having any coffee what-so-ever, which is why I’m so cranky!  My doctor told me that I can have a casual cup of coffee here and there, but be sure that it’ss black. I tried, but I just can not get use to the watery texture of black coffee. This is not why I am trying to wean myself off  coffee though.  I was told that people that have an under active thyroid should not be drinking any coffee at all. And since this has also become a recent issue, I decided to see if I could quit cold turkey. I’m very cranky, and just looking over at my coffee pots lined up on the counter is making me very frustrated. The weekends here, and Starbucks and Brew Nerds will be calling my name shortly…

Getting back to iron rich foods, which is also known as, being Anemic. There are actually 400 different types of Anemia, who knew? The most common is having low iron. Looking over this list again…

I use to eat lots of walnuts, but found that they are very acidic, and I am trying to eat more alkaline foods, so gave them up a while back. I  eat spinach almost daily, but would need to eat an awful lot to get enough iron each day. I eat eggs, but only twice a month and have been thinking about giving them up. I  love raw clams and oysters,which are high in iron, but no one else does, so I only order them while out. I use to eat chick peas almost daily, but found out that they are not healthy for my blood type, so gave them up last year. I eat kidney beans a couple times a month in chili, but other then that, I guess I will have to stick with vitamins. *sigh* The only symptoms that I have regarding being anemic, are cold hands and feet most of the time and very pale skin and feeling tired, even after sleeping 8-10 hours. It is best to have iron with vitamin C, which makes it absorb the best. If you have it with fiber or dairy, it won’t absorb at all.

Iron-Rich Foods Quantity Approximate Iron Content (mg)
Oysters 3 ounces 13.2
Beef liver 3 ounces 7.5
Prune juice 1/2 cup 5.2
Clams 2 ounces 4.2
Walnuts 1/2 cup 3.75
Ground beef 3 ounces 3.0
Chickpeas 1/2 cup 3.0
Bran flakes 1/2 cup 2.8
Pork roast 3 ounces 2.7
Cashew nuts 1/2 cup 2.65
Shrimp 3 ounces 2.6
Raisins 1/2 cup 2.55
Sardines 3 ounces 2.5
Spinach 1/2 cup 2.4
Lima beans 1/2 cup 2.3
Kidney beans 1/2 cup 2.2
Turkey, dark meat 3 ounces 2.0
Prunes 1/2 cup 1.9
Roast beef 3 ounces 1.8
Green peas 1/2 cup 1.5
Peanuts 1/2 cup 1.5
Potato 1 1.1
Sweet potato 1/2 cup 1.0
Green beans 1/2 cup 1.0
Egg 1 1.0
Leave a Reply

