Thursday's Ramblings

Today has been one of those days…You know the ones…Where you wake up,  just want to gaze at  the ceiling, for no apparent reason.

Not much to do because I did all the cleaning last night. The kids had a very easy day ahead of themself,too. They have one more week of school, and then they are off for a couple months.

Al’as-I forced myself to get up.  The kids were already awake and doing their lessons. The house was peaceful and quiet.

 I decided to start  cooking. I took some boneless chicken out last night, and placed it in the crock pot with some chicken stock and shredded chedder cheese. I then made a big pot of brown rice and a tossed salad. YUM!

Then I realized that I had some severely over ripe nanners. My daighter makes banana muffins and bread all the time, so we wanted to do something different. I have never made, or even tasted Banana pudding, which seems to be a Southern favorite down here.

I asked on FB what I should make. One person said Bananas Foster, which I had to Google, because I had never heard of it. Turns out,  you cook the bananas with brown sugar and butter, and use as a syrup over ice cream and french toast. Sounds  sinfully heavenly!  But also insanelyyyyy rich.

My daughter found a banana cookie recipe, which was what another had mentioned to make ..Then my son commented that he felt like cake. I checked and had a block of cream cheese, so cake it is!  Well, not really cake, but cupcakes. :o)

 There is something extra special about a cupcake. It’s a feeling. No one would ever place a whole cake in front of them..but when you have a cupcake on a plate and it is right under your nose…It just makes you feel special. You know you can eat the whole thing by yourself! :o)~

 I ‘m sitting here finishing my coffee, then will start on those cupcakes.. DH bought this new coffee flavoring, called Honey-Vanilla. Tastes wretchid! But…..*The thought that counts right?*

I love honey, but I guess not in my coffee. This stuff is nasty! lol

I wanted to lay out and tan today but it’s not a tanning day. The sun has been in and out all day. Even though it’s in the upper 70’s. I like it to be in the 80’s when I lay out. I was going to lay out and tan yesterday, but DH said he thought I was going to get stung by a wasp..so I decided to take warning, and not. *G*

What else?

My kids have been busy all week playing at the creek in the woods.

They have been bringing me gifts each day.

We had no idea about the creek until late last year. We also didn’t know there was anything in it!  I’m not a creek expert, or anything like that…In fact, I didn’t even know what a creek was until we moved down here and I heard the term! LOL

Our creek is full of cute little creatures. Crayfish, salamanders, tadpoles, toads & frogs. So cute! The kids have brought me a bit of everything..<3

My salamanders died..I think we have one left. Someone told me that they need running water..All my tadpoles are doing great and a couple crayfish have made it.

We have been feeding all our fish tank fish live food to keep them healthy, so that has been neat. We have our ‘pets’ then we have our food for fish! My 7 year old had a big problem with this at first and couldn’t bare the thought to feed live tadpoles to the fish.

After explaining it to her, she’s now the first to start the morning with A—-

“DID ANYONE FEED THE FISH YET, CAN I?” 

 SO CUTE!

 

 

Leave a Reply

