Thyroid Update

I got diagnosed with a lazy Thyroid February of 2012. I really had no idea what this meant.


 I suppose I was doomed from the get go, as all the women in my family have lazy Thyroids. Therefore, struggling with mood swings, weight gain, and very long ‘cycles’ *grin*

My hormones have been a hot mess, too. 

But it was just something I had just learned to live with. 


So when my doctor said he thought it was time for some medical intervention, I said sure!

He wrote me a prescription for Levothyroxine, and out the door I went. Right on over to CVS.

Then I came home and Googled it, reading up on all the possible side effects, and why so many people online seemed worst off while on it.

I prayed that I’d be different though.

That it would be, ‘just what the doctor ordered’ Sort of speak.

And that it would really work for me. I was hopeful.

First I called my Aunts, Mother, and Cousins who already had been diagnosed years ago.

I asked them what type of meds they were on.

Each of them had a very similar story.

They said they started off on Levothyroxine, but then felt worst. Zombie-like, to be precise.

I have one cousin  who is still looking for answers. Not taking anything.

The rest are on a natural hormone called, Armor Thyroid.
Good Luck finding a doctor who will actually prescribe it to you though.

There is simply no money to made when you are on a non-FDA approved natural med/hormone. And that is what Armor Thyroid is. It is devived from pig hormones, which are mostly like our own.

I have tried Bovine hormone supplements. But  they simply had no effect on me. I have heard some ladies speak highly of them though.

You can buy them at any supplement website. Or, at Trader Joes/Whole Foods, and the alike. Worth a shot if you don’t have insurance, or are not in to modern meds.

That  shared-
While on LEVO, I started having all sorts of body aches and pains. It was just awful!

This started about a month in. I never actually felt any relief at all. To be honest.

I’d sleep for ten hours and still have a hard time getting out of bed in the morning. Then I would need an afternoon nap by 3pm. I felt lethargic all the time.

And don’t get me started on weight gain. Again, awful!

But I didn’t give up.

I had two doctors tell me that they do not prescribe Armor, because it’s just a Placebo. And that synthetic hormone therapy was all they prescribed. Such as Levothyroxine.

I also heard that there was no Scientific proof that Armor actually worked. They claimed.

If you do your own research online you will read countless testimonies about Armor. Some good, some bad. But mostly good.

It was originated and used back in the days to treat everyone with Thyrid issues.

Right up until Big Pharms took over.

And now rule the world!!

So little by little doctors began to get discounts and extra funding by prescribing synthetic drugs. So this is the route that most stay on.

Many old timers with Thyroid issues still insist on taking what they have been taking for the past 30+ years. So Armor is also still around.

Insurance does not cover it though. Figures!

I started off by  getting it at CVS, but it was an arm and a leg. Then a friend told me to start shopping around.

Walmart, Walgreens, and Rite-Aid were equally expensive. And when I say expensive, I mean $30-$50 per month.

When you compare that to a $10 co-pay  for some synthetic junk, it is pricy.

What I have found out is that local pharmacys that have been around for years and years seem to be the best places to buy prescriptions at cost.

Currently I spend $16 per month for my monthly supply of Armor.

So you need to shop around.

A few phone calls is well worth the hassle. I promise!

It’s been almost three months that I’ve been on Armor. And my numbers have gotten better since switching to Armor Thyroid.

I have been getting my blood work checked each month.

I had to go a Endronoligist to get a prescription. But not everyone does. My mother and Aunts go to a regular primary care physician for theirs.

It all depends on the practice I guess.

Sure, it’s a bit more costly then a co-pay…But feeling human again is worth it.

You can’t put a price tag on that!

They started me off on  15mg of Armor.

Which is the standard. Or so I’m told.

After a month they increased it to 30mg, which is called a hafe grain.

And then two weeks after that, they increased it to 60mg. One full grain.

Most people find the most relief (more energy and weight loss) at 90mg.

The highest amount they will prescribe is 120mg. Two full grains.

My numbers are not perfect yet, but most of my body aches have disappeared and I’m not moody at all anymore. Praise God!

I feel physically and mentally better.

My energy has increased, and I’ve started to slowly drop the weight I have gained.

I feel as though I am getting my life back. And this is something to Praise the Lord for! ❤️
 

4 thoughts on “Thyroid Update

  1. I’m glad you found someone who would take you seriously and are better.

    Big Pharms–boo-hiss and other negative sounds.

    Like

    • I know. Feels great!
      Now if I can stop losing my hair.
      I just ordered some industrial Biotin off Amazon. It’s said to make your hair longer and thicker, in as little at eight weeks. Filling in baldness even.
      The only side effect? A beard! Lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

