Wanting things 

What makes you want stuff?

 
1. Novelty

2. Lust

3. Desire

4. Keeping up with the Jones

5. Instant gratification

6. Entitlement

7. Security

Some of these things seem to have a lot in common with each other.
Some people say that they would rather invest in  life experiences then anything else life could offer. And I’m thinking there is something to that.
While other people prefer living the ‘American Dream’

Working hard to have the house and car of your dreams sure sound great. Not to mention summer vacations and all the latest electronics.

We never know when our time is up, so I am a firm believer in enjoying the time we have here.
What I am really trying to understand though, is, why do we want stuff? People in different countries seem to be more content with the bare minimum. Food, shelter, and water.

But we, here in the states, always want more then we have.

We are never ‘truly content’

I will be the first to raise my hand here.

My daughter just commented on my slowly disappearing purse collection,  and how I only have s few bags. Opposed to a few years ago when I had over fifty. (Looking at them makes me want to go shopping for another.) 😐

Now I’m not one to not use my stuff.

If I invest in a nice handbag or fancy parfum, I will use them. Even if it’s just to run to the market. I don’t think we should save things for a fancy occasion because  life doesn’t promise us tomorrow…

These things may sound like small beans to most people. As some people are out buying summer homes and new cars each year.

Non the less, it  seems that most of us always desire a little bit more then what we have. We never fully reach the contentment stage. If that stage is even real.

It’s a FEELING that something new gives us. I think!

But It never lasts, so I guess that’s why we keep consuming more.

I hear people say that you can not buy happiness. And I agree with this.

But looking back at my life line aka’ LIFE!

I was a lot happier twelve years ago when I had twice of what I have now. And this is really bothering me. *sigh*

Not to say that I’m not happy now. But I was HAPPIER when I had more.

Can you think of a time when you were the most happiest?

I’m not talking spiritually here. Or even family related things.

Just basic happiness with where and what you had in life.

#randomthoughts

Leave a Reply

