Why so many options?

Why do we need so many options?Why fix what’s not broken?

Maybe I’ve just just had too much time to think lately.
Or…
Like mother keeps telling me, “Michelle, you are getting old dear.”
But seriously, back in the days…

1. You wanted fast food you decided between Burger King or Mc’donalds.
2. Steak? You went to Sizzler.
3. Ice cream? Carvel or Dairy Queen?
4. Pizza? Pizza Hut.

Everyone went to Pizza Hut!
5. Hot Dogs? Oscar Meyer or Ball Parks?
6. Shopping? Kmart. Just K-mart!
If K-mart didn’t have what you needed, then you headed to the mall for Sears and JC-Penny’s. Or you simply did without.

But more often then not, K-mart had it all..  
Why have they filed bankruptcy? Oh yeah, because we all have TOO MANY OPTIONS NOW!

Now let’s talk about Soda…trival, I know…

Coke or Pepsi?
Some sort of clear soda…7-up? Sprite?

And if you were “extra” you went for Mountain Dew or Mellow Yellow. What more did you need?

I remember when Cherry Coke came out but you couldn’t get it at a restaurant…
Mom had to buy it from the market.
All This takes me back to earlier today

I ran into Burger King. It’s been a while. 

The soda station was like an algebra problem..
One in which I needed help with. 
Diet Coke and regular coke were still the main options. Yay!
But they also came in every flavor imaginable!

Why do we need all these options?
Same went for all of the other fifteen soda choices. 
If you are in a hurry you could always opt for sweet tea I suppose.

Well, that use to be an easy remedy..
But not any more. Ice tea? 

First you must choose between diet or regular. Then you are given the options of raspberry, peach, or lemon flavored…
And do you want it with sugar, Splenda, Stevia, or simply unsweetened?
I went with sweetened. I was in a hurry. šŸ˜
I also noticed that onion rings and fries also branched off. 

Now you can choose cheddar tater tots as a third option.

I’m sure it won’t be long until they add curly and sweet potato options.

I can go on, but you get the picture.

Maybe I am just getting old. I want simple and right to the point nowadays.
Today has been ‘A DAY’
Even my  local grocer had to change on me, with those stupid self check out cashiers. 

Why do I want to spend an hour grocery shopping, only to have to check myself out and bag my own groceries?!

What’s more, why strip everyone from their jobs?! 
And don’t get me started with all the chain restaurants having tablets on all the tables so we can all order our own food when we go out to eat. šŸ˜”

I suppose my parents had to go through similar  changes themselves… 
I remember my mother swearing at the phone because she didn’t want to push 1,2,3 or 4.

She wanted to talk to A HUMAN!
Like.. back in the days.. 
Aww.. it’s only a matter of time before WE CEASE TOO….

Leave a Reply

