Grandma-Make-up

When I was 16, I lived down in Florida with my grandmother for a season.
She was well in her sixties. 

I use to watch and examine her morning routine while living with her.
It first involved, waking at 6am to prepare her cup of Sanka coffee. And then sitting down for her morning devotions. Which was 30 minutes. Fifteen to read. Fifteen to pray.
Then she would turn on her 13″ black and white television and watch Phil Donahue. I think that was the name of the program. 
After that, whether she was going anywhere or not, she would shower, get dressed and apply a bit of makeup. 
Grandma wore Estee Lauder. 

Which I have yet to try. But I want too!
It was one of the few luxury items that she splurged on a couple times a year. 
Or sometimes, she received some from her employer as a Holiday gift. She had later shared with me.
She wore bright pink Estée Lauder lipstick. A pale Estée Lauder foundation. And bit of cream blush. That was it.
One morning while quietly watching her from the sofa, I asked her what the liquid stuff she was putting on her face was?
Oddly, I did not know a whole lot of make-up when I was a teenager. I thought I did. But nothing to what I know now.
In fact, I use to think eye shadow went underneath your eyes. Where concealer goes. 😳
At age sixteen, I wore face powder, eye shadow, eyeliner, mascara, and lipstick. 
Always the same look. 😐

Nude Covergirl face Powder. (The ever popular brown compact that Christie Brinkley made famous.)
Electric blue Maybellie mascara. (Pink tube)

Wet & Wild blue eyeliner. 

And a Maybelline blue and pink eye shadow compact. In the blue  Blooming Colors quad. I think that’s Carol Alt in the ad? 

Oh! And any coral lipstick that was available to me. Basically, stuff my mother or aunt didn’t need anymore. Stuff they passed down to me. 
So I was intrigued over this liquid porcelain stuff that my grandmother was putting all over her face with her hands. (No Beauty blenders or brushes back then.)
That morning I asked grandma what it was, exactly.

She laughed and told me that I didn’t have to worry about what it was, or how to use it…for many years.

And that was the end of that.
Back in those days you simply did not question an adult after they spoke. Especially one you respected. 
After she applied her foundation. (Which I saw in the bathroom later that day and picked it up to see what it was called.)
And no, it did not even accure to me to open it up and try it. Although I think nowadays I would have, and same goes for today’s teens. 

Let’s face it, we are all so curious. 

Years and years passed..
I have been through many a make-up trend. 

I’ve also spent several years not wearing any makeup at all.
However, Currently, I’m loving ALL makeup.

Everything! 
It upsets me that I did not have the options that today’s teens have.
From primers to setting sprays, to pore minimizing creams…
Options are endless!
So today while rummaging through my makeup, Grandma came into my mind. IN NEON!
I looked over my large foundation COLLECTION and I took a moment to remember that very day that I learned what foundation was, and how to apply it.


Grandma never shared how old she was when she first started wearing foundation, but I started wearing it in my mid-thirties.
I love a good BB cream also. As it’s a one step process to hide acne scars, red marks, sun spots, and hyperpigmintation issues.


I love what foundation can do too. 

It makes this girls aging face look like a blank canvas. Well sorta. 😉
As you know, when the face ages, it looses collagen and becomes quiet dry. It dies t matter how many gallons of water I drink.

I can’t wear full coverage, or matifying formulas. I need to stick to dewy, glowy, somewhat sheer finishes…leaving the rest for my daughters to play around with. Makeup should be fun! Nothing to take too serious. I do think too many people see it as a negative thing. But if you have the time to play around with it. It’s fun! Why not?! 😉
~I miss my grandmother so very much. ❤

As a teen, I look back and realize how I simply did not appreciate everything she did for me. Along with our ‘little moments’ that seemed silly at the time…they were memories in the making.

I try to have a lot of memories like these with my own kids, seeing as they do not have grandparents who are active and close by in their lives.
I love you grandma. Thank you for always being there for me and never giving up on me. 
~Until we meet again.. at the pearly gates of Heaven.

One thought on “Grandma-Make-up

Leave a Reply

