Homemade Rose Oil Fail

I had some beautiful roses last week that began to wilt after a few days. 

 I couldn’t bring myself to just toss them. So, I decided to try my hand at making rose oil.

 I use rose oil on my face and hands before bed each night, so I figured why not make my own. 

For those who are curious about rose oil, there are many to choose from on Amazon and places like, Marshalls and TJ Max. It’s very good for the face. Especially this time of year. 

I just googled a simple recipe. Although, they are all pretty similar.

Step one: You bring a pot of water to a boil.

Step two: While you are waiting for it to come to a boil you start shredding all your rose petals in a canning jar. Yes, I used my clean hands for this task. It’s very simple to do. 

Step three: Next, you pour one cup of olive oil over your crushed petals. I used two cups, because I had two dozen rose petals. You can also use almond oil if you do not have olive on hand. 

Step four: After your pot of water comes to a full boil, you shut it off and cover your jar of roses, placing  the jar in the  pot of hot water. Now you leave it there until the water cools. I left mine in the pot over night.

Step five: The next morning place your jar in a window sill for 1-7 days, depending on how fragrant you want your oil to be. Or so the claim was..

 I was impatient, so after one day I went to open my jar to drain the petals through a clean cheesecloth and bottle it all up.

 I even reserved my good amber glass jars for my special rose oil. 

It should have been that easy, but it was not. 
Here is a pic of them steeping in the oil. Yay! Excitement!


And the after product that I was faced with after sitting on the window sill for 24 hours.

Yeah, that fuzzy stuff is mold. *sigh*

They were a beautiful white less then 48 hours ago. 

Verdict: failed attempt 😐

Leave a Reply

