Don’t you want more in life?

I had my daughter ask me today why I don’t aspire to be more then I am. Huh?

I’m nearly fifty, and extremely content with my life. But I wasn’t always. Not until my relationship with God became right. If your relationship with God is not right, you will be like a fish out of water.

Oh, but not now. I feel whole now. I feel happy and alive! I feel content. I believe that You will only feel this when you are in Gods will. Truly in his will.

I spent the last twenty-Four years being a full time parent. That was MY CHOICE and what I WANTED to do. No one forced my hand. I also did not have any regrets at any point. I love being a mother. I love spending time with my kids and being here full time for them. I hear so many other moms complain that they missed out on this or that, and then resent their families. It happens. But I’m not one who has ever wished I would have had done things differently. God had a plan for me and I have been very blessed by it.

My youngest won’t be eighteen for another four years, so I simply do not understand this question. In fact, I’m 100% certain it did not originally stem from this daughter at all, but only her mouth and things that she’s read, or heard from others.

Let me ask-

What should I be aspiring to do at my age?

Should I now be trying to start a career? Do I feel as if I missed out on having one? Nope! I have been reselling on and off since 1999. I enjoy my job.

Have I felt like I have missed out on something bigger or better that would have given me recognition and respect from all of mankind? Nope!

Should I want to go back to school? Maybe to be able to just say that I did? Make someone proud, etc. Nope! In fact, since I am laying it out on the table, I would not go back to school if it was a free ride to any uni of my choice. I have always felt this way.

Should I desire more then what I have right now because I can’t possible be happy with my life?

Well, I don’t ever cuss, but if I did, I would right now. I really would.

I can not stand how this world continues to belittle and teach kids that we should all be FOREVER wanting more then what we have.

I really hate it!

Let’s ask all the great actors, actresses, socialites, and youtube multi-millionaires that have committed suicide in the past decade if they took their lives because they were, Oh so happy. Happy having achieved so many great things. Happy to have traveled to their hearts content. Happy that they had recognition and were looked up to and admired by so many people.

It’s bull.

This world teaches us to desire and live in a constant state of more! more! And even more. And if you are seen as a carefree, happy and content person, then something is Definitely wrong with you. Really? Tell me how this makes any sense at all.

So, what did I reply to my daughter when she asked me why I don’t aspire to be more.

I told her that I have never aspired to be more then I am, as I am content and happy. I like who I am. I’m confident in my own skin. I don’t care what others think about me. I’m not living my life for any recognition whatsoever. I’m not living my life to make other people look up to me. And I’m simply not looking to be more then I am, and THAT should be okay.

I told her that I can’t take credit for being happy and content, as it’s all Jesus. Christ has filled me with true joy and contentment. I know it’s nothing I could have ever achieved on my own. No one can. Sadly, most people will spend their whole lives trying by their own means to be, and feel happy. And In the end, they still desire more, and find themselves unhappy and depressed, wondering why they were so unhappy their whole entire lives. But then their are the people of the world telling them to just try a little harder and you will feel it. You will be happy. But no. You won’t.

There is no price tag, money, or fame you can ever place on the feeling of true contentment.

Something the world continues to mock. Something that people can not understand until they experience Gods will for their life and counting it all joy.

One thought on “Don’t you want more in life?

Leave a comment